We ALL have something to overcome. We ALL must push ahead anyway.

17 03 2010

NO excuses…

“And indeed if you think you’re a genius at something, what you achieve is very much according to your expectations; if you think you’re no good, you’re not going to get anywhere.” ~ Diana Wynne Jones


“Being in control of your life and having realistic expectations about your day-to-day challenges are the keys to stress management, which is perhaps the most important ingredient to living a happy, healthy and rewarding life.” ~ Marilu Henner


Don’t live down to expectations. Go out there and do something remarkable. ” ~ Wendy Wasserstein


Don’t lower your expectations to meet your performance. Raise your level of performance to meet your expectations. Expect the best of yourself, and then do what is necessary to make it a reality. ” ~ Ralph Marston


If you accept the expectations of others, especially negative ones, then you never will change the outcome. ” ~ Michael Jordan


“It is only through raising expectations and striving for excellence that our children can reach their full potential. ” ~ Brad Henry


“It’s when ordinary people rise above the expectations and seize the opportunity that milestones truly are reached. ” ~ Mike Huckabee


“Let us be about setting high standards for life, love, creativity, and wisdom. If our expectations in these areas are low, we are not likely to experience wellness. Setting high standards makes every day and every decade worth looking forward to. ” ~ Greg Anderson


“Life… It tends to respond to our outlook, to shape itself to meet our expectations. ” ~ Richard M. DeVos


“Men… are bettered and improved by trial, and refined out of broken hopes and blighted expectations. ” ~ Frederick William Robertson


“Other people may not have had high expectations for me… but I had high expectations for myself. ” ~ Shannon Miller


Our environment, the world in which we live and work, is a mirror of our attitudes and expectations. ” ~ Earl Nightingale


“Our limitations and success will be based, most often, on your own expectations for ourselves. What the mind dwells upon, the body acts upon. ” ~ Denis Waitley


Every man is free to rise as far as he’s able or willing, but it’s only the degree to which he thinks that determines the degree to which he’ll rise.” ~ Ayn Rand


So…


Quit your bitching, whining, and moaning the hand you were dealt in this life. No one is given a free pass.  No one gets anything without working for it.  Like Ralph Waldo Emerson said, “Nothing GREAT was ever achieved without ENTHUSIASM.”


Get out there, live high, and rise above.


And THAT. That is all I have to say about THAT.

Actions

Information

4 responses

21 03 2010
desertrose2010

I loved all of your quotes and totally agree!!!!

From another loudmouthed redhead ( with Irish roots)
Jeannie

22 03 2010
loudmouthredhead

Thank you, that means a great deal to me.

So, do you think the loudmouth is related to the redhead, the Irish roots, or a combination of the two? Parts of me say they are a package deal, the other part is not so sure!

22 03 2010
desertrose2010

I think it’sa package deal. I have a half sister whom I just met about 8 years ago, and she and I have almojst identcical personalities. Even to talking and laughing too loud.

You might find this funny, though. I was out New Year’s Eve in years past and someone came toward me. I thought he was going to ask me to dance.

Instead, he leaned over and asked ” are you a real redhead”?
I answered in the affirmative and he replied “well,I hate redheads” and off he went.

Something tells me he had a history with some strongwilled redheaded girl.

I know when I was a young girl, I had to be a little tougher, just due to the color of my hair. Some of the kids called me “redhead, pees the bed”. LOL
Now that I am in my 50’s, the red is fading and I am dying it back to red!

Keep being you, girl! The world should have more of us. 🙂

Jeannie

29 03 2010
loudmouthredhead

Jeannie ~ I thought I’d posted a response to you, but it looks like it didn’t take!

I had a confession to make, I’m of Irish decent, have alabaster skin, I even have the attitude, but I’m not a natural born redhead! The friend who takes great care of my hair (and at many times my spirits) noted that I was a better fit coloring and personality-wise than my natural hair color so we went red and I’ve never looked back.

Thank you for your kind words of support. They couldn’t have come at a better time. I’ve had a bit of a rough spot here lately with strangers being critical of my boisterous personality and as I’ve tried dating I’ve had some friends advise me to ‘rein it in’, ‘tone it down’, and not be ‘me’. I’ve found nothing good can come of that. I figure if my friends like me the way I am, there is a guy out there who will like me that way too, but it doesn’t hurt to be reminded every now and then!

Also, I don’t think some guys know what to do with a strong-willed, independent, intelligent woman. I think it scares them a bit. At least that seems to be what I’ve observed.

Crummy kids, but they helped you become you so it couldn’t have been ALL bad!

Leave a Reply

